Live: Updates on Osun Election

The eight-year tenure of Governor Rauf Aregbesola is gradually winding up as the residents of the state troop to the polls today, Saturday, September 22, to decide who will be the next governor of the state of Osun.
Although there are 48 parties and thus 48 governorship candidates cleared to contest for September 22 governorship election in Osun state, about five of them are expected to be the major contenders jostling for the 1,246,915 votes in the state.

These are a former secretary to the state government, Fatai Akinbade of the ADC; immediate past secretary to the state government, Moshood Adeoti of the ADP; the candidate of the governing APC, Adegboyega Oyetola; a senator, Ademola Adeleke of the PDP; and a former senator, Iyiola Omisore of the SDP. Who will Osun people give the mandate to become the next state governor among these candidates? Is it going to be Oyetola? Adeleke? Omisore? Or a new fresh face?

1.40pm: At Ilesha west local government, Moroko Ward 9 PU 6, The Cable reports that vote counting has started.
1pm: Police arrested two suspects for allegedly inducing voters Iwo LGA. The sum of N604,000 was reportedly found on them.


12.50pm: Olagunsoye Oyinlola, a former governor of the state, voted at unit 3, ward 1, Okuku, Odo Otin local government area.
12.40pm: The Cable reports that Mansur, a voter at Obada ward 1, unit 1, in Ede South, said party agents take voters to a corner to swear with a Quran if indeed they voted for their candidate. Thereafter, they are handed N1,000 naira –

12.30pm: The governorship candidate of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Senator Iyiola Omisore, on queue to cast his ballot in Ile-Ife at his More Ward.